To content

studium oecologicum

Students of the Department of Social Sciences have the opportunity to participate in the studium oecologicum in addition to their chosen course of study and to acquire a sustainability certificate.

The studium oecologicum consists of three (elective) compulsory modules:

  • Foundation Module
  • Subject module (from your own subject area)
  • Subject module (from a foreign subject)

To receive the certificate, all three modules must be taken and a total of 10 credit points must be earned.

Lectures and seminars of the studium oecologicum in the WS 2021/22

In the Foundation Module the "Öffentliche Ringvorlesung Klima: Wandel, Werte, Wissenschaft" (Public Lecture Series Climate: Change, Values, Science) (No. 065505 of LSF) has to be attended.

In the module of the Departement of Social Sciences, social scientists are required to participate in the seminar "Sustainability - Environmental Justice and Social Change" (Vst.-Nr. 171087).

Modern societies are facing a variety of ecological, social, economic and technological challenges. Sustainable development and sustainability are linked and socially negotiated as normative concepts and political agendas with answers and strategies for finding solutions to such challenges. The aim of the seminar is to examine the normative implications and social effects of corresponding discourses on sustainability (such as questions of environmental justice) and to critically reflect exemplary social innovations as solutions for sustainable lifestyles and consumption.

To this aim, the basic concepts of sustainable development and sustainability will be introduced and the aims of social science sustainability research will be discussed. Students learn to use social science methods. They will be guided to develop their own research question within the topic (such as unequal distribution of environmental burdens, social innovations for the implementation of sustainable lifestyles and consumption in everyday life or environmental attitudes in certain social groups). They will be strengthened in their analytical and scientific working skills and learn to present their results appropriately and to prepare them in the form of a scientific, written paper.

Lecturers: Miriam Schad and Judith Boll

Course language: German


The second subject module is to be chosen from an non-subject area. There are 5 superordinate subject areas to choose from:

Location & approach