To content

Quality Improvement Commission

A student is typing on a laptop, two others are sitting behind him. © Nikolas Golsch​/​TU Dortmund

The deadline for submitting applications to the Quality Improvement Commission is February 6, 2023.

If you have any questions or comments about the Quality Improvement Commission, please feel free to contact any of the following:


Vice Chair

According to §4(1) of the Department Regulations, the QVK consists of two voting members from the group of university teachers, two voting members from the group of scientific employees and five members from the group of students. The student representatives have the majority of votes in this commission. The term of office of the elected representatives is two years, in the case of students one year.


Dean of Studies (without voting rights)

  • Dr. Arne Niederbacher


  • Jun.-Prof. Dr. Dorothee Gronostay
  • Prof. Dr. Cornelius Schubert

Research assistants

  • Lukas Conrad Brandt
  • Dr. Giesela Steenbuck


  • Marius Daume
  • Katharina Pauline Hast
  • Lena Kukowka
  • Felix Fankhänel
  • Beyzanur Bayrak

The tasks of the Quality Improvement Commission (QVK) result from the "Law for the Improvement of Equal Opportunity in University Admission in North Rhine-Westphalia" (in German language only) of 1 March, 2011, according to which the universities are provided with earmarked funds of at least 249 million euros annually to improve teaching and study conditions - and to compensate for the abolition of tuition fees in the winter semester 2011/12. At TU Dortmund University, the allocated QV funds of approximately 13 million per year1 are allocated to the departmens according to a distribution key (e.g. number of students in 1.5 times the standard period of study).

The QVK of the Department of Social Sciences organizes the procedure for applying for QV funds allocated to our department. It decides on the eligibility of the submitted applications and forwards its decision recommendations to the Dean's Office.

1] Cf. homepage of the central Quality Improvement Commission of the TU Dortmund, (in German language only)

Who is eligible to apply?

Members of the Department of Social Sciences at TU Dortmund University

How is the application submitted?

Applications are submitted using a standardized application form that is available within the department.  

When can applications be submitted?

For each semester, the respective application deadlines are announced under "News". The orientation towards deadlines enables a more efficient application procedure, since applications can be discussed collectively in QVK meetings. If possible, the QVK will also consider applications received late.

To whom should applications be addressed?

Applications should be sent by e-mail to Mr. Marius Daume (Chair of the Commission) or Ms. Gronostay (Vice Chair).

What can be requested?

Material resources as well as student/research assistants can be requested. The employment of student or research assistants can, for example, provide tutorials for lectures or support teaching in other areas. Material resources can be, for example, guest lectures in the context of courses, study trips and excursions, or purchases to improve studies and teaching.

Location & approach