To content

Doctoral matters

All applications and inquiries regarding doctoral matters should be addressed to the office of the Doctoral Committee:

Doctoral Committee of the Department of Social Sciences
attn. Katja Hohns
Emil-Figge-Str. 50
44227 Dort­mund


Please note that applications for admission to doctoral studies must be submitted digitally and by mail.

Chairperson of the Doctoral Committee

Vice chairperson of the Doctoral Committee

Secretariat of the Doctoral Committee

The following mem­bers of the Doctoral Committee were elected by the Department Council:

  • Jun.-Prof. Dorothee Gronostay
  • Prof. Jürgen Howaldt
  • Prof.  Angelika Poferl
  • Prof. Bernd Sommer
  • Dr. Bastian Pelka
  • Alina Lena Schmitz
  • Nehle Penning


The habilitation is a university and professional qualification. It enables the person concerned to teach and conduct research independently at a university.

The habilitation regulations can be found at the following link:

Habilitationsordnung der Technischen Univerisität Dortmund vom 02.07.1993 (in German only)